State of Origin -NRL

21 May 2023

The State of Origin is an annual rugby league series played in Australia between two state representative teams New South Wales ands Queensland. It is widely regarded as one of the highest levels of rugby league competition with some
of the best players from the National Rugby League (NRL) competing. The series consists of three matches played over several weeks. 
The first State of Origin match was played on July 8, 1980, at Lang Park (now Suncorp Stadium) in Brisbane. The game was an immense success, drawing a record crowd and showcasing a level of intensity and skill not seen in previous interstate matches.
There is also a Women's Interstate rivalry between New South Wales and Queensland which  began in 1999 but wasn't officially called State of Origin until 2018.
At the time, interstate matches between NSW and QLD were played under a residential qualification rule, meaning players had to be living in the state they represented. However, Arthur Beetson and others believed that selecting players based on the state of their first senior rugby league club, regardless of their current residence, would create a more competitive and exciting series.
Following the success of the inaugural match in 1980, State of Origin became an annual series, captivating rugby league fans across Australia. It quickly became one of the most anticipated and prestigious events in Australian sport, producing legendary moments and fierce rivalries between the two states
Origin was created to showcase the best players from NSW and QLD, who traditionally dominated the sport, in a highly competitive interstate rivalry. The selection process for each team is based on the state of eligibility of the players, with NSW representing the Blues and QLD representing the Maroons, based on their first senior rugby league club.
Some Memorable Moments
 Since its inception, the series has been fiercely contested, resulting in numerous memorable moments. Some of the most notable include:

  1. Wally Lewis's Heroics (QLD): Wally Lewis, known as "The King," was a key figure for QLD during the 1980s. In 1989, he famously played with a broken arm in Game 2, leading QLD to a victor
  2. The "Glorious Gould Years" (NSW): During the 1980s, NSW experienced a dominant period under the coaching of Phil Gould, winning eight consecutive series from 1985 to 1992.
  3. The Decade of Maroon Dominance (QLD): From 2006 to 2017, QLD enjoyed an unprecedented run of success, winning 11 out of 12 series. This era featured legends like Darren Lockyer, Johnathan Thurston, and Cameron Smith.
  4. NSW's Resurgence (2018-2019): NSW broke QLD's dominance by winning the 2018 and 2019 series under the coaching of Brad Fittler. These victories marked the beginning of a new era for the Blues.

Series Winners?
in terms of series wins, QLD has historically had the upper hand, winning more overall. However, the gap has narrowed in recent years. Series wins

  • QLD - 23
  • NSW - 16
  • Drawn 2

There have been 41 full series of State of Origin and three (3) one-off games were played in 1980, 1981, and 1987, with Queensland winning the first two and New South Wales the latter. 
And for the Women

  • NSW -3
  • QLD - 2

2023 State of Origin Key Dates

  1. Wednesday 31st May Adelaide Oval
  2. Wed 21 Jun 2023, Suncorp Stadium Brisbane
  3. Wed 12 Jul 2023, Accor Stadium Sydney


  1. Thu. June 1, CommBank Stadium, Sydney
  2. Thu. June 22, Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville

Why tune in? 
In my view it is one of the greatest sporting events on the sporting calendar for all Australians each year, with some of the best players in the NRL competing for their state.
My thoughts on Who will win in 2023?
I think another hard fought year but my prediction is that NSW Blues will win the mens 2-1  and women state of Origin 2-0. 
Who do you think will win?

Write & Read to Earn with BULB

Learn More

Enjoy this blog? Subscribe to Napes


No comments yet.
Most relevant comments are displayed, so some may have been filtered out.