The word "Love"

14 Sept 2022

From the highest virtue or good habit to the deepest inter-personal affection, love comprises a variety of powerful and pleasant emotional and mental states, from the simplest pleasure. The difference between a mother's love and a spouse's love, which is different from a love for food, is an illustration of this diversity of meanings. Most frequently, the term "love" refers to an intense desire and emotional bond. Love is said to have both positive and negative aspects, with its virtue expressing human kindness, compassion, and affection and its vice representing human moral fault, similar to vanity, selfishness, amour-propre, and egotism, and potentially resulting in mania or obsessive behaviour.
It may also refer to acts of kindness and affection shown to oneself, other people, or animals. Love is one of the most prevalent themes in the creative arts due to its primary psychological value and the significant role it plays in fostering interpersonal relationships in all of its forms. According to some theories, love serves as a mechanism that keeps people together in the face of dangers and promotes the survival of the species. Six types of love were generally recognised by ancient Greek philosophers: familial love (in Greek, Storge), platonic love (Philia), passionate love (Eros), self-love (Philautia), guest love (Xenia), and heavenly love (Agape).

Additional types of love have been identified by contemporary authors, including courtly love, unrequited love, empty love, companionate love, consummate love, enamoured love, and self-love. Additionally, many cultures have identified Ren, Yuanfen, Mamihlapinatapai, Cafuné, Kama, Bhakti, Mett, Ishq, Chesed, Amore, Charity, and Saudade (as well as other variations or symbioses of these states) as culturally distinct words, definitions, or expressions of love in relation to a particular "moment" that are currently lacking in the English language. Over the past two decades, there has been a considerable growth in scientific research on emotion. The colour wheel theory of love describes the traditional colour wheel to establish three primary, three secondary, and nine tertiary love styles. According to the triangle theory of love, "intimacy, passion, and commitment" are the three fundamental elements of love. Additional religious or spiritual meaning can be found in love. When compared to other emotional states, love is particularly challenging to consistently define due to its variety of applications and meanings as well as the intricacy of the sensations involved.

Write & Read to Earn with BULB

Learn More

Enjoy this blog? Subscribe to Tete


Love is a collection of feelings and behaviors marked by closeness, passion, and commitment. It entails tenderness, closeness, protection, attraction, affection, and trust.
Love is most times taken a deep emotional feeling. However there's more to feeling. Love is synonymous with action.
Love is painful as it is beautiful