The Three Levels of Leadership

28 Aug 2022

The Three Levels Of Leadership model is a tool for developing leadership presence, awareness, and skills. 
The Three Levels of Leadership are: Public, Private and Personal  

Public and Private Leadership: The “outer” behavioural levels, refer to influencing two or more people simultaneously. 
In these levels, the leader must address the “four dimensions of leadership” through their behaviour. 
The Four Dimensions of Leadership:
1. A shared, motivating group purpose or vision.
2. Action, progress, and results. 
3. Collective unity or team spirit. 
4. Individual selection and motivation. 
Personal Leadership: The “inner” behavioural level, refers to a person’s leadership presence, knowhow, skills, beliefs, emotions and unconscious habits. Most importantly, Personal Leadership concerns the leader’s self-awareness, their progress toward self-mastery and technical competence, and their sense of connection with those around them. 

At this inner level, there are three aspects of what leaders should do in order to grow their leadership presence, knowhow and skill:
1. Developing one’s technical knowhow and skill
2. Cultivating the right attitude toward other people. 
3. Working on psychological self-mastery
Personal Leadership is the most powerful of the three levels. 

Write & Read to Earn with BULB

Learn More

Enjoy this blog? Subscribe to Sarah


No comments yet.